Want to be a referee?

Print Email

Hall Of Fame



2018 WVSA Hall of Fame


The 2018 WVSA Hall of Fame will be held on Saturday, March 3, 2018 at the Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place in Morgantown, West Virginia.


The West Virginia Soccer Association (WVSA) is pleased to announce six inductees into the WVSA Hall of Fame - Class of 2018. The WVSA Hall of Fame Nomination Committee has voted to induct the following members:


izzo-brown-nikki (8-15)

Nikki Izzo-Brown (Meritorious Member) – Izzo-Brown has made tremendous contributions to soccer in the state of West Virginia on many levels from her coaching beginnings at West Virginia Wesleyan College in Buckhannon to her early efforts in advancing the West Virginia Olympic Development Program. As the head coach of the West Virginia University women's soccer team for the past 21 years, Izzo-Brown has built a one-time infant program into a national powerhouse.


josh mckinney

Josh McKinney - Josh McKinney, who grew up in Princeton, West Virginia, retired in 2014 after 19 years with the U.S. Soccer Men’s National Paralympic Team. McKinney, played club and high school soccer in West Virginia, as well as having a collegiate soccer career at Concord University. He earned 124 international caps over his 19 years as a member of the U.S. Paralympic team.  The West Virginia native scored 81 goals over that 124-game career, and at the time of his retirement was captain of the U.S. Paralympic National Team.


Jim Regan

Jim Regan – The Belfast, Northern Ireland native, Jim Regan served as Director of Coaching for the Wheeling Soccer Club for over 20 years and became a force in the state and region, winning numerous WVSA State Cup championships. He also served many years in West Virginia's Olympic Development Program. He has been the Head Men’s Soccer Coach at Wheeling Jesuit University for the last 35 years.


Ed Hayes - Ed Hayes was the WVSA State Director of Referee Assessment and worked with new and seasoned referees helping to improve the referee capabilities of many referees.  He also attended US Youth Soccer Region I tournaments for many years as the WVSA Assessor Representative, mentoring and assessing referees from all over the region. Hayes made many contacts at the regional and national level which allowed him to set up entry level assessor classes in WV while refereeing for many years at various levels.


Holly Rieke - Holly Rieke was instrumental in starting organized youth soccer in the Morgantown area in the late 1980s and she remained involved until her untimely passing in 2005. Holly saw the value in creating a strong referee community, and worked diligently to recruit, train and mentor young referees. Holly served on the Board for Monongalia Youth Soccer from its inception, founded Mountaineer Soccer Club, the first travel program in the county, and Vandalia Soccer Club, which had the goal of unifying all youth soccer activities in the county. Her dream was realized in 2012 with the formation of Mountaineer United Soccer Club. She was also president of the original WV State Travel League for over 10 years.


Sam Broh – Sam Broh was the first president of organized soccer when the Huntington YMCA formed a soccer league in 1972. He was also instrumental in starting high school soccer in the Huntington area in 1977. Broh was named commissioner of the West Virginia High School Soccer Association in 1978, the first high school league in the state. The league disbanded in 1998 when the WVSSAC decided to sanction soccer as a high school sport. He also founded the Western West Virginia High School Soccer Officials Association the first local board in the state.



WVSA will induct the WVSA Hall of Fame - Class of 2018 on Saturday, March 3, 2018 at the Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place in Morgantown. WVSA is now accepting reservations for tables of 10 for the awards dinner for $450 by calling 304-382-5350.

Individual tickets for the awards dinner are $50 and are now on sale.


Purchase Table of Ten - $450.00

Email Marcus Cole - marcus@wvsoccer.net


Purchase Individual Tickets - $50 each



Class of 2017

The West Virginia Soccer Association is excited to announce the newest members of the WVSA Hall of Fame: Len Rogers, the late Sam Rizk, Jim Adams, Ted Toler, Dana Sutton, and Ned Kelly.

The WVSA Hall of Fame Class of 2016:

Andy Andersen, Harold "Dunnie" Bache, Elaine Baldwin, Jack DeFazio, Adele Dolansky, Hank Dyer,
Tom Hasbrouck, and Sam Hood

The WVSA Hall Of Fame Class of 2015:

Dennis Brumfield; Jay Adams; Bob Gray; the late Gordon Hearnshaw; Les Baldwin; Eric Wood;
the late Ken Cross; Hank Steinbrecher; Frank Graziano; Jane Laraba and Scott Fischer

©2018 West Virginia Soccer Association
Home | Privacy Policy | Sitemap